MINUTES of the SCHOOL DISTRICT OF HARTFORD JT. 1 - January 23, 2024

The regular meeting of the School District of Hartford Jt. 1 Board of Education was called to order by President Greg Erickson at 6:02 PM on Tuesday, January 23, 2024 at the District Administration Building.

Roll Call – Ed Behnke, Greg Erickson, Don Pridemore, Louise Schrunk and Erin Wilk were present. Also present were Dr. Tara Villalobos, administrators, supervisors and thirty-five guests.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited and led by Rossman students.

Approval of Agenda: Erickson verified the posting of the regular meeting according to all governing laws. Wilk moved Schrunk seconded to approve the agenda with tabling Action #5. Vote. All yes. Motion carried.

Presentation of Student Excellence: Rossman students presented a lesson on math ratios.

One citizen addressed the Board.

INFORMATIONAL

- 1) District updates included:
 - i. A summary of the safety meeting was shared with the Board.
 - ii. Central students and staff will participate in a Winter Chill Week in February.
 - iii. An update on Crossroads program staffing was shared with the Board.
- 2) Board updates included:
 - i. State Education Convention feedback was shared with the Board.
 - ii. A legislative breakfast will take place in February at CESA 6.

DISCUSSION

- 1) The Spotlight on Learning shared highlights of the Purposefull People program pilot.
- 2) Board Elections will have a Candidate Forum on February 13 and the primary election will be on February 20, 2024.
- 3) A summary of the Board self-assessment was shared.
- 4) District calendar drafts for the 2024-25 school year were shared.
- 5) Mr. Radschlag provided an update of technology services.

ACTION

- 1) Wilk moved Pridemore seconded to approve the Hartford Rotary Club donation of up to \$3200 to Lincoln Elementary for the purchase of a Literacy Vending Machine. Roll call vote: Wilk-aye, Behnke-aye, Pridemoreaye, Erickson-aye, Schrunk-aye (5-0). Motion carried.
- 2) Pridemore moved Wilk seconded to approve policy 5113 Open Enrollment Program (Inter-District). Vote. All yes. Motion carried.
- 3) Wilk moved Behnke seconded to approve the designation of open enrollment spaces for the 2024-25 school year as follows: no limit of regular education spaces, no special education spaces available in grades EC-8, and guaranteed approval for currently attending applicants. Roll call vote: Behnke-aye, Pridemore-aye, Erickson-aye, Wilk-aye, Schrunk-aye (5-0). Motion carried.
- 4) Schrunk moved Wilk seconded to approve the 2024 Summer Academy Course Book. Vote. All yes. Motion carried.
- 5) McKinstry Facility Assessment Study Contract was tabled.
- 6) Wilk moved Behnke seconded approve the consent agenda. Roll call vote: Erickson-aye, Behnke-aye, Pridemore-aye, Wilk-aye, Schrunk-aye (5-0). Motion carried.
 - a) Approval of minutes of the December 19, 2023 Regular Meeting; December 20, 2023 Special Meeting & Closed Session.
 - b) Approval of Fund 10, 21, 27, 50 and 80 payment vouchers 27948 to 28080 for the amount of \$895,819.35.
 - c) Approval of the December 2023 Treasurer's report.

HJT1 School Board Meeting Minutes – January 23, 2024

- d) Personnel Recommendations
 - i. Certified Staff Resignations
 - Tyler Kowalke, long-term permanent substitute teacher, Central
 - Michelle Kuhfuss, long-term permanent substitute teacher, Central
 - ii. Certified Staff Hires
 - Theresa Leiberg, special education teacher, Rossman
 - Bob Rau, mentor, Central

Behnke moved Schrunk seconded to move into closed session per Wisconsin Statute §19.85(1)(c)(e) for the purpose of discussion and potential action of administrators' contracts, and district administrator evaluation. Roll call vote: Wilk-aye, Pridemore-aye, Schrunk-aye, Behnke-aye, Erickson-aye (5-0). Motion carried.

The Board reconvened into open session.

Board meeting reflection and feedback was given to the Board.

Pridemore moved Wilk seconded to adjourn. Motion unanimously carried. Meeting was adjourned at 9:02 PM.

Respectfully submitted,

Louise Schrunk, School Board Clerk

Dr. Tara Villalobos, District Administrator